Die Fledermaus by Strauss (November 2005)

Die Fledermaus is the younger Strauss’s most celebrated and popular operetta. Director Ian Gledhill and Musical Director Morris Fisher assembled a very strong cast of experienced singers and actors, who together with the full SCO chorus and SCO orchestra recreated the joy and gaiety of Viennese highlife in the naughty nineties.

The cast included Joanna Shacklock as Rosalinde, Melvyn Osborne as Eisenstein, Andrea Ryder as Adele, Ernesto Correa as Alfred, Mitzi Matlock as Orlovsky, Richard Swift as Franke and Jonathan James as Frosch the jailer.